Read posts on technology, gadgets, science and lot more!


Eight units of Aquion’s prototype batteries can be strung together to create a 15-volt module, which can then be stacked and connected to make even larger modules.

Stepts to greener world.....

Utilities need cheap, long-lasting ways to store the excess energy produced by power plants, especially as intermittent power from solar and wind farms is added to the mix. Unfortunately, the batteries available for grid-level storage are either too expensive or don’t last for the thousands of cycles needed to make them cost-effective.

A new battery developed by Aquion Energy in Pittsburgh uses simple chemistry—a water-based electrolyte and abundant materials such as sodium and manganese—and is expected to cost $300 for a kilowatt-hour of storage capacity, less than a third of what it would cost to use lithium-ion batteries. Third-party tests have shown that Aquion’s battery can last for over 5,000 charge-discharge cycles and has an efficiency of over 85 percent.

The company has now received $30 million in venture capital to step up manufacturing of its sodium-ion batteries. The new technology could be the cheapest way to store large amounts of energy for the power grid using batteries, says Jay Whitacre, the company’s founder and chief technology officer.

Aquion’s battery uses an activated carbon anode and a sodium- and manganese-based cathode. A water-based electrolyte carries sodium ions between the two electrodes while charging and discharging. The principle is similar to lithium-ion, but sodium ions are more abundant and hence cheaper to use. Compared to solvent-based electrolytes, the aqueous electrolyte is also easier to work with and cheaper. Even better, the materials are nontoxic and the battery is 100 percent recyclable, Whitacre says.

Grid-scale trials of the technology are next. Aquion has started shipping pre-production battery prototypes to off-grid solar power companies. Next month, a 1,000-volt module will go to KEMA, a Dutch energy consulting and testing outfit, which has a facility outside Philadelphia.

Utilities use stored energy to meet electrical demand during peak usage periods, a practice called peak shaving, which helps keep the grid reliable and efficient and electricity prices low. Whitacre says Aquion’s battery is designed for these grid applications. “It’s very well-suited for off-grid solar and wind support, and also for peak shaving,” he says. “It’s two very different applications, and our battery has been shown to be effective in both.”


John Miller, an electrochemical capacitor expert and president of consulting firm JME in Shaker Heights, Ohio, says Aquion’s battery could be the cheapest of the various battery technologies vying to provide grid storage. He compares it to today’s most common grid storage technology, pumped hydro, which accounts for 95 percent of utility-scale energy storage. Pumped hydro involves moving water to an elevation when electricity demand is low, and releasing that water through turbines during peak periods. It is, however, limited by geology and space, and pumped hydro systems take many years and millions of dollars to build. Utilities are now starting to look at batteries because they can be delivered in months and, in principle, can be sited anywhere.

Comments on: "New Battery Could Be Just What the Grid Ordered…!!" (27)

  1. Heya There. I found your site using msn. This is an extremely well crafted post. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and return to read more of your helpful info. Thanks for your article.

  2. Good write-up, very helpful. I wonder why the other experts of this sector do not notice this. You must keep on your posting. I’m sure, you have a huge readers’ base already!

    • HM..not really.I have got no huge readers’ base.I guess you can help me out in this aspect,just tell a couple of your friends about the blog.THat’s more that enough.Thanks once again.

  3. F*ckin’ brilliant details here. I am highly lucky to find your content. Thank you a lot and i’m looking forward to contact you. Are you going to kindly drop me a email?

  4. Simply just wish to say your own article is really as amazing. The clearness in your post is just cool and i can assume you’re an expert on this subject. Fine with your authorization allow me to grab your feed to keep up to date with forth-coming article. Thank you a thousand and please carry on the enjoyable work.

  5. Hi, Now i’m seriously glad I’ve discovered this kind of information and facts. Currently writers publish just about gossips and world-wide-web this also is definitely annoying. A good quality weblog with exciting articles, that is exactly what I want. Thank you for keeping this site, I’ll be viewing it. Do you do ezines? Can’t find it.

  6. What i don’t realize is certainly how you are not really much more well-liked than you might be right now. You’re so intelligent. You realize thus significantly relating to this subject, made me personally contemplate it from a lot of varied angles. It’s like men and women are certainly not interested unless it is one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your own stuffs superb.

  7. Hey, Now i’m really lucky I have discovered this unique info. Currently bloggers submit just about gossips and web and also this is definitely frustrating. An excellent site with fascinating articles, this is what I need. Thanks for keeping this site, I will be viewing it. Do you do newsletters? Can not find it.

  8. What i don’t realize is really how you are not truly a lot more well-liked than you might be right now. You are so clever. You realize thus considerably relating to this subject, made myself contemplate it from a lot of varied angles. Its like women and men are certainly not fascinated unless it is one thing to do with Lady gaga! Your individual stuffs outstanding.

    • Hm…thanks.Ya,I am also not able to understand this liking thing..!!! I too agree with you that,the information which I am posting must have taken me to a better level than I am now.

  9. Wonderful read, I just now passed this onto a colleague who had been doing a little analysis on that. And he just purchased me lunch as I uncovered it for him smile Therefore let me rephrase that: Thanks a lot for meal!

  10. I’d really like to thanks a ton for the efforts you have put in creating this web log. I am hoping the same high-grade website write-up from you in the upcoming as well. The fact is your original writing skills has encouraged me to get my own blog site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings rapidly. Your own article is a very good example of it.

  11. Hiya i am for the first time here. I came across this board and I find It certainly invaluable & it helped me out much. I hope to give some thing back and aid others as you helped me.

  12. Hello there, just became aware of your blog through Google, and found that it’s certainly beneficial. I am going to look out for brussels. I’ll be grateful if you continue this in future. Many people will likely be benefited out of your writing. Kind regards!

  13. My friend suggested I might like this web page. He was entirely right. This write-up basically made my day. You can not imagine just how much time I’d invested for this info! Cheers!

  14. It really is perfect time to make several plans for the future and it is time to be happy. I have read this write-up and if I could I desire to suggest you some helpful points or advice. Perhaps you could write next posts referring to this post. I want to read even more things about it!

  15. This is extremely interesting, You’re a very skilled blogger. I’ve joined your feed and look forward to looking for more of your superb blog post. Also, I have shared your websites in my social networks!

  16. Good write up, I am regular visitor of one’s web site, maintain up the wonderful operate, and It’s going to be a regular visitor for a long time.

  17. I’ve been exploring for a little bit for any high-quality content on this sort of place . Searching in Askjeeve I at last found this websites. Reading this info So i’m happy to convey that I’ve a very fantastic uncanny feeling I discovered exactly what I needed. I most definitely will make sure to don’t forget this site and give it a glance regularly.

  18. Heya incredibly great web site!! Man .. Beautiful .. Amazing .. I will book mark your own site and take the rss feeds also…I am happy to uncover a lot of beneficial information here in the blog post, we need work out more strategies in this regard, thank you for sharing.

  19. Nice man try for more blogs information is good

Let the words roll off your mind!

Tag Cloud

