Read posts on technology, gadgets, science and lot more!


John Cioffi:Father of DSL

John Cioffi

John Cioffi

Not one to blow his own horn, Cioffi shies away from publicity. But by all accounts, the Stanford professor was intent on coming up with a way to deploy broadband over copper wires and developed asymmetrical digital subscriber line (DSL) technology. He left Stanford in 1991 to found Amati Communications Inc. He has since returned to Stanford, where his research focuses on Dynamic Spectrum Management (DSM).

 Gary Thuerk:Father of spam

Gary Thuerk

Gary Thuerk

In 1978, an overly aggressive sales rep from Digital Equipment Corp. sent out a pitch to several hundred names on an early ARPANET mailing list. Not only did Gary Thuerk get flamed, the feds running ARPANET threatened to throw him in jail. How times have changed. Today, 80 to 90 percent of all email is spam and nobody seems to know where it’s coming from or how to stop it. As for Thuerk, he’s at HP, still selling computer gear. Is Thuerk embarrassed about unleashing the scourge of spam on the world? Not really. “I’m the first one to do it, and I’m proud of it,” he says.
Here is some cool stuff about the first spam ever!  http://www.templetons.com/brad/spamreact.html

 Doug Engelbart:Father of the mouse

Doug Engelbart

Doug Engelbart

Engelbart is an early Internet pioneer. In 1969, ARPANET’s first transmission was between nodes at Leonard Kleinrock’s lab at UCLA and Engelbart’s lab at Stanford. A philosopher, scientist, and inventor, he’ll always be known as the father of the mouse, which he patented in 1970. He never received any royalties however. His patent expired in 1987, before the personal computer revolution. Today, at 83, he heads the Doug Engelbart Institute.

I recommend you the following categories: InspirationalEntrepreneurship

Source: Infoworld

Comments on: "Forgotten heroes of technology-2" (41)

  1. Some genuinely good stuff on this internet internet site , I it.

  2. Yours is a prime example of informative writing. I think my students could learn a lot from your writing style and your content. I may share this article with them.

  3. I got what you mean , saved to my bookmarks , really good site . 276149

  4. Excellent post man, maintain the good function, just shared this with my friendz

  5. There is noticeably a bundle to know about this. I assume you created certain good points in capabilities also.

  6. very nice put up, i actually love this web site, keep on it.

  7. Excellent post. I previousally to spend alot of my time water skiing and watching sports. It was quite possible the most effective sequence of my past and your content material kind of reminded me of that period of my life. Cheers

  8. Wonderful support from this weblog! Thanks alot for the data I necessary.

  9. You made some respectable points there. I looked on the internet for the issue and found most people will go along with with your website.

  10. I just couldn’t depart your site prior to suggesting that I extremely enjoyed the standard info an individual offer for your visitors? I’m gonna be back often to be able to inspect new posts.

  11. I besides believe therefore , perfectly composed post! .

  12. Spot lets start function on this write-up, I truly believe this wonderful web site requirements significantly a lot more consideration. I’ll apt to be once once more to read a fantastic deal a lot more, several thanks for that information.

  13. How may be the new year going? I hope to read a lot more fascinating posts like last year.

  14. This is truly fascinating, Youre a extremely skilled blogger. Ive joined your rss feed and look forward to seeking much more of your magnificent post. Also, Ive shared your web website in my social networks! 215101

  15. I just now discovered your blog post and now Im remember to start with followers. 953736

  16. I discovered your blog internet website on bing and appearance several of your early posts. Preserve up the extremely great operate. I just now additional the RSS feed to my MSN News Reader. Seeking toward reading far much more on your part down the road! 103383

  17. Spot lets start function on this write-up, I truly believe this wonderful web site requirements significantly a lot more consideration. Ill apt to be once once more to read a fantastic deal a lot more, several thanks for that information. 731605

  18. Having read this I thought it was quite informative. I appreciate you taking the time and effort to put this post together. I once once again uncover myself spending strategy to considerably time both reading and commenting. But so what, it was nonetheless worth it!

  19. Hey, you used to write great, but the last couple of posts have been kinda boring�K I miss your super writings. Past several posts are just a bit bit out of track! come on!

  20. Someone necessarily assist to make critically articles Id state. This really is the initial time I frequented your internet page and thus far? I amazed with the analysis you produced to make this actual submit incredible. Exceptional activity! 286336

  21. I would like to see much more posts like this!.. Fantastic blog btw! reis Subscribed.. 441436

Let the words roll off your mind!

Tag Cloud

